Newark Park is not far from Dyrham Park and had been chosen to hold the ‘Volunteers tea party.’ I had heard on the grapevine these events get quite debauched so I naturally agreed to help out. After trying to help Rich and James set the hot water urns up (they do work far quicker when the extention cable is plugged in) I played a crucial role in straightening chairs and tables so the scene was soon set for the first to arrive… Although it was a bit of a bummer the firebreather’s and DJ had to cancel, the show must go on.
After much tea and sandwiches had been consumed it was soon cake time! Having been expertly sliced by Katy all we had to do was to hand it out before the ceremony began to present long service badges to the Vol’s. Around this time I quickly made the transition from trying to help to getting in the way, so my work was done. I had also eaten a little more cake than I should have, so I snuck off into the night feeling a tiny bit sick but with a sugar rush…

About arlingtoncourtblog

Welcome to my blog! I've been keeping it to document my training as a Conservation Assistant for the National Trust at Dyrham Park. View all posts by arlingtoncourtblog

One response to “

Leave a Reply

