Westwood ho!

An opportunity to go ‘off piste’ came when Margaret suggested it would be a good experience for me to help out with the seasonal clean at Westwood Manor. As my training course has a lot to pack in to a year, I jumped at the chance to try my hand at conservation cleaning in different environment. I successfully found my way through the hussle and bussle of Bradford-on-Avon, and got there just after Margaret and Bridget. Having no prior knowledge of what was in store, I was a little blown away. The house is surrounded by lush gardens and hedges, and is not only a grade 1 listed building but gets a mention in the Doomsday book. A truly beautiful house and a real National trust gem. The house also has tenants, who I was instantly envious of! After a quick cuppa, we set to work. I was designated the ‘Oriel’ bedroom. (Margaret casually noted ‘I think that one’s haunted’…. Thanks!) I must have been trained well as the instinct to clean kicked in, and I automatically looked for good place to start. This cosy room contains tapestries and a great four poster bed with some lovely carving, but no ghost today. Moving systematically through, under Margaret’s guidance we found ourselves in the ‘Music room’. This is most impressive and has a piano, harp and lute in its collection. (The only thing stopping me from attempting the opening bars of ‘Stairway to Heaven’ was a couple of broken strings….)

About arlingtoncourtblog

Welcome to my blog! I've been keeping it to document my training as a Conservation Assistant for the National Trust at Dyrham Park. View all posts by arlingtoncourtblog

Leave a Reply

